New Jersey ignition interlock laws have recently changed and this may affect you! On January 14, 2010, the New Jersey State Legislature signed new
legislation regarding DWI laws throughout the State. Sponsored by Senator Jim Whelan, the bill, entitled S-1926, or “Ricci’s Law,” is an amendment that toughens the standards for mandatory ignition interlock devices for people who have been driving while intoxicated.
1.) Who qualifies for ignition interlock?
First time DWI offenders whose blood alcohol content (BAC) is .15% or greater.
All subsequent offenders, regardless of BAC or other circumstances.
Anyone who refuses to take a breathalyzer test during arrest.
2.) How long will I need the ignition interlock device in my vehicle?
For first time offenders, the device must be installed during a license suspension, ordered by the judge, and must remain active for 6 months to 1 year after license restoration. For subsequent offenders, the device must be installed during license suspension, ordered by the judge, and must remain active for 1-3 years after license restoration.
3.) How does the ignition interlock device work?
The device is installed in your vehicle and electronically connected to the ignition. When you breathe into the unit for several seconds, it measures your breath alcohol levels and compares it with predetermined limits. If your BRAC is over the authorized limit, your vehicle will not start. If your BRAC is within the authorized limit, you’re on your way. As you’re driving, you will be required to take “rolling retests.” Periodically, you will be required to take your vehicle to your local smart start service center for the interlock device to be serviced. There you will pay your monthly lease. It’s as easy as that!!
4.) How do I get started?
- Call 1 (800) 880-3394 to schedule your installation appointment. Bring a copy of any paperwork specific to your interlock requirements, proof of address, photo ID, and proof of insurance. Allow at least 45 minutes for installation of the ignition interlock device.
- At time of installation, we’ll explain how to use the interlock service requirements and what to do if you have any problems or questions.
- Sign your contract and pay for the installation and first month’s lease.
- You’re on your way!! Interlock.